Women in Design

AIA Eastern Oklahoam established Women in Design in September of 2016 to address issues specific to women in the Eastern Oklahoma architecture community.

Vision Statement: Crate an equitable environment where women can thrive in the profession of architecture and the broader design community.

Mission Statement:  To develp a network of professional women for the purpose of mentoring, sharing and supporting one another; and to educate, inspire and encourage women to reflect on their own place in the design profession.


Interpersonal Leadership Styles Workshop

Wendy Thomas of Leadership Tulsa will lead us through an Interpersonal Leadership Styles Workshop









Our Leadership Team

Kate Cofer, AIA

Jenni Hammock, AIA

Clarissa Hoskison, AIA


Mary Kell, AIA

Shekoofah Khedhri, AIA

Mary Caroline Cole Award

Named after Oklahoma's first licensed woman architect, The Mary Caroline Cole Award is presented biannually to recognize and honor an individual AIA woman member architect who has exhibited a dedication to advancing the role of women in architecture through their work proessionally, in the community and/or the region, and who has dedicated extradorinary time and talent to this end.

Award Recipients

2019 - Connie McFarland, FAIA

Connie McFarland, FAIA was awarded the inaugural Mary Caroline Cole Award for her tireless work to elevate the voices of women and their work in architecture.  Connie first served as President of AIA Eastern Oklahoma in 1985, and then as President for AIA Oklahoma in 1998.  Following her elevation to Fellow in 1998, Connie served as President of the AIA Trust in 1999.  Connie has been an invaluable member of AIA Eastern Oklahoma and the community at large.